One of the popular topics of interest is about obtaining a Colorado concealed weapons permit. Colorado does not accept non-resident permits (e.g. if you are a resident of Colorado, you may not legally carry a concealed weapon using a Utah permit), so if you live in or have moved to Colorado, you would be required to obtain a Colorado permit.
(accurate at the time of writing, but subject to change)
What steps are required to obtain a permit?
Colorado requires that you
- Fill out an application
- Provide proof of residency, documented evidence of competence with a handgun (basically a course by a certified instructor satisfies this, as well as some other activities), fingerprints, and a photograph (in La Plata county, the last two are obtained at the Sheriff\’s office)
- Pay $52.50 (cashier\’s check or money order) payable to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (for a background check)
- Pay a processing fee to the sheriff\’s office processing the application (La Plata county is currently charging $60
Where can I find a course required to obtain a permit?
Courses are regularly available through club members (check the most recent club Newsletter for course information). Additionally, the La Plata County Sheriff\’s office maintains a listing of certified instructors on their site.
Where can I not carry a firearm with a valid permit?
- anywhere prohibited by federal law
- onto the real property or any improvements of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school
- public buildings where security personnel and electronic screening devices are permanently in place
- where a private property owner, tenant, employer, or business disallow it
What other states accept a Colorado permit when visiting their state?
The Colorado Bureau of Investigation maintains this list at their site about reciprocity
Helpful links (these links go to sites outside of the Durango Gun Club site:
- La Plata County Sheriff\’s “How to apply”
- La Plata County Sheriff\’s list of forms (information, application, change-of-address, and list of certified instructors)
- NRA Firearms laws by state (including concealed carry information)